Membership Committee|

Report from Membership Committee (2014 – 2016)

Co-Chairs: Teresa Lin, Cindy Young

Membership in the current biennium increased by one more new member. Total number of members in Zonta Club of the New Territories reaches fifty-five. We are happy to report that there is no attritions in this biennium.

The new member, Edwina Lau, was inducted on 3 March 2015. Edwina was formerly the Regional Commander, New Territories South and supervised over 3,000 police officers. Her region protects the safety, enforces law and order of 1.5 million people or about 20.5% of total population in Hong Kong. Those who have met Edwina will agree that she is friendly, soft-spoken and gentle. She was recently promoted to the job of Director, Hong Kong Police College. With the recruitment of Edwina, Zonta Club of New Territories adds one new occupational classification.

Membership Occupational Classification as of May 2016 breakdown is as follows:

A review session on membership strategy was held on 30 May 2015. We are very thankful of the support from Lilian Lau, Betty Fu, Yvonne Chua, Winnie Wong, Jackie Ma and Patricia Yeung to explore in details the best option going forward. We explored:

1. What would be the ideal number of memberships for our club?
2. What membership profiles should be targeted?
3. Which occupation classifications should we target?
4. How does that align with ZI and District 17 goals?

Membership growth is the Zonta International and District 17 goal. We concluded occupations in financial services, Government civil service, medical and social services should be the Club’s membership recruitment focus. Younger members should be recruited for succession planning purpose.

Three member’s lunch gatherings were organized by the Membership Committee to provide members an opportunity to reinforce their network of relationships.

Our congratulations to members:
‧ Winnie Wong, Area 2 Director of District 17 2014-2016 was elected District 17 Nominating Committee Chair, 2016-2018.
‧ Teresa Lin, District IT Development Committee 2014-2016 was elected Lieutenant Governor of District 17, 2016-2018.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window